Loading Events
This event has passed.

Online International Launch: Thursday 14 January 6.30pm-9pm GMT

Santiago Rising (directed by Nick MacWilliam, 88 mins, Alborada Films, 2021)

Event times: 6.30-9pm London / 3.30-6pm Santiago / 1.30-4pm New York / 10.30am-1pm Los Angeles

WATCH THE TRAILER

The online premiere includes a post-screening Q&A with director Nick MacWilliam, plus other speakers TBC. Chaired by Pablo Navarrete (Alborada/Alborada Films)

*The 88-min film will be available to watch from 6.30 to 8.30pm GMT with the Q&A starting straight after*

BUY TICKETS

*25% of ticket proceeds will go to Los Ojos de Chile (The Eyes of Chile), a foundation to support some of the hundreds of victims of eye injuries committed by Chilean police during protests*

Once you have purchased a ticket, you will receive an Eventbrite link from Alborada Films five hours prior to the the film screening, with a password and viewing link. This will be active from 6.30pm to 8.30pm on Thursday 14 January 2021.

You will also be sent instructions regarding how to access the live Q&A that will follow the screening. Please email info@alborada.net with any questions.

We have priced tickets into five bands based on how much you earn. The idea is that the more money you have, the more you pay. This is so everyone can access our event at an affordable price, while ensuring that the project remains financially sustainable.

Synopsis of film

Santiago Rising takes place on the streets of Chile’s capital city in late 2019, as large public protests over economic inequality engulf the country.

The film charts the build-up to the historic vote, in October 2020, that saw Chileans vote for a new people’s constitution to replace the one imposed during the brutal Pinochet dictatorship. It examines how a movement which began as a high school students’ protest over transport fares evolved into one of the most significant events in the country’s history.

Filmed during the weeks after protests began, Santiago Rising meets social movements, protesters and ordinary people in their struggle for equality and human rights.

The film emphasises the creative element of Chilean protest, as music and art play a prominent role in expressing political dissent. We also see the state’s attempts to crush the protest movement through a brutal police crackdown.

Although the odds are stacked against them, Chileans find strength in unity as they aim to overcome Pinochet’s enduring legacy.

Facebook event page