Loading Events
This event has passed.

Chile’s constitution is a legacy of the Pinochet dictatorship and has come to symbolise the embedded inequalities that sparked a year of mounting popular protests.

The plebiscite on 25 October must determine whether to start the process of drawing up a new constitution and how the process will be conducted.

Even if the plebiscite endorses both the change and the establishment of a constituent assembly, many in the popular movements fear that they will be excluded and the old, discredited political parties will manipulate the process.

On the day after the vote we explore what the results mean for the future of democracy in Chile.

Speakers:

– Héctor Ríos Jara is Phd research student in social science at University College London, University of London. He is currently based in Chile and is a member of Social Theory and Latin American thought (CLACSO) and the Chilean London Assembly (Asamblea Chilena en Londres).

– Carole Concha Bell is a UK based journalist, founding member of the Chile Solidarity Network and press coordinator for Mapuche International Link.

Chaired by Pablo Navarrete (Alborada co-editor)

Start/Finish time:

– 8.15pm-9.15pm (London)

– 5.15pm-6.15pm (Santiago)

– 1.15pm-2.15pm (Los Angeles)

– 7.15am-8.15am (Tuesday 27 October, Sydney)

The event runs from 8.30pm to 9.15pm London time but the waiting room will be open from 8.15pm. A Chilean music playlist will be played before the event.

https://www.alborada.net/support

Facebook event page.

TICKETS: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/chiles-october-plebiscite-tickets-126140322099