The Progressive International statement on the persecution of Argentina’s Vice-President Cristina Fernández de Kirchner.

We, members of the Council of the Progressive International, express our solidarity with the Vice-President of Argentina Cristina Fernández de Kirchner in view of the judicial and media persecution to which she is being subjected, with the clear objective of politically disqualifying her – the foremost leader of the Peronist movement – ahead of the 2023 presidential elections.

The anti-democratic rightwing of the region uses lawfare tactics to harass, persecute, and disqualify the main progressive leaders of the national and popular governments of Latin America. Direct military interventions and violent coups have been increasingly traded for legal warfare paired with corporate media collusion to attack political leaders who do not serve the interests of the ruling class and the neoliberal model.

The constant judicial persecution that Vice-President Fernández de Kirchner has endured puts the country’s democratic life at risk. That is the real objective of the lawfare we are seeing across Latin America today: the judicialisation of politics to attack and disqualify progressive leaders such as Manuel Zelaya, Rafael Correa, Fernando Lugo, Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, Dilma Rousseff, Evo Morales, Álvaro García Linera, Jorge Glas and currently Cristina Fernández de Kirchner.

We, members of the Council of the Progressive International, express our deep solidarity with Cristina Fernández de Kirchner with the conviction that popular mobilisation will be vital to confront attacks on democratic processes, popular sovereignty and leaders of political projects of inclusion and social justice in a free, united and sovereign Patria Grande.


Yanis Varoufakis MP (Greece)

Dr. Cornel West (United States)

Aruna Roy (India)

Baltasar Garzón (Spain)

Leïla Chaibi MEP (France)

Ertuğrul Kürkçü (Turkey)

Vijay Prashad (India)

Alicia Castro (Argentina)

Ahdaf Soueif (Egypt)

Renata Ávila (Guatemala)

Nikhil Dey (India)

Yara Hawari (Palestine)

Srečko Horvat (Croatia)

Scott Ludlam (Australia)

Nick Estes (United States)

Niki Ashton MP (Canada)

This declaration was previously published in the Progressive International and has been edited for style.

Alborada is a member of the Progressive International wire service.